The official banner for the IEEE Conference on Virtual Reality + User Interfaces, comprised of a Kiwi wearing a VR headset overlaid on an image of Mount Cook and a braided river.

Doctoral Consortium

Here is the proposed schedule with mentor assignments. All times below are NZ Daylight Savings Time, UTC+13. All presenters and mentors are encouraged to attend as much of the doctoral consortium as possible, however we understand that our different time zones may make attendance difficult at particular times. All talks will be recorded and available for later viewing. If a student and/or mentor are not available to meet during the scheduled mentoring sessions, they should set up a time to meet later that is convenient for them both.

Mentors listed first next to a student will meet during the Mentor Group 1 Breakout session, and mentors listed second will meet with that student during the Mentor Group 2 Breakout session.

Please use the official Discord for discussions during the event:

9:00 - 9:15 Welcome + Ice Breaker
9:15 - 10:45 Presentations 1 - 6 (8 min talk + 4 min questions)
Verena Biener – Dr. Bowman & Dr. Zollmann
Shakiba Davari – Dr. Zollmann & Dr. Feiner
Soumyajit Chakraborty - Dr. Froehlich & Dr. Klinker
Faisal Zaman - Dr. Klinker & Dr. Froehlich
Shu Wei - Dr. Nóbrega & Dr. Steed
Niall L. Williams - Dr. Steed & Dr. Nóbrega
10:45 - 11:00 Break
11:00 - 12:30 Presentations 7 - 13 (8 min talk + 4 min questions)
Monsurat Olaosebikan – Dr. Gruchalla & Dr. Robb
Andrew H Maxim – Dr. Robb & Dr. Skarbez
Yu Zhao – Dr. Feiner & Dr. Thomas
Zahra Borhani – Dr. Orlosky & Dr. Bowman
Xiaodan Hu – Dr. Krum & Dr. Orlosky
Benjamin Powley – Dr. Cutchin & Dr. Gruchalla
Daniel A. Muñoz – Dr. Skarbez & Dr. Ahn
12:30 - 13:15 Break
13:15 - 15:00 Presentations 14 - 20 (8 min talk + 4 min questions)
Matt Gottsacker - Dr. Gonzalez Franco & Dr. Stevenson Won
Prasanth Sasikumar – Dr. Gabbard & Dr. Krum
Hiroshika Nadeeshani Premarathne – Dr. Lok & Dr. Cutchin
Kunal Gupta - Dr. Ahn & Dr. Johnsen
Dmitry Resnyansky - Dr. Johnsen & Dr. Volonte
Udapola Balage Hansi Shashiprabha Udapola - Dr. Stevenson Won & Dr. Gabbard
Nisal Manisha Udawatta Kankanamge Don – Dr. Volonte & Dr. Lok
15:00 - 15:45 Mentoring Group 1 Breakout (45 min)
15:45 - 16:00 Break
16:00 - 16:45 Mentoring Group 2 Breakout (45 min)
16:45 - 17:00 Closing

Conference Sponsors


Virbela Logo. Their name next to a stylised green, red, and blue circle.


ChristchurchNZ Logo. Their name is written in a red font.

iLRN Logo. Their name is written in an orange font.
University of Canterbury Logo. Their name is written in a red font.


The Qualcomm logo. Their name is written in a blue font.


HITLab NZ logo. A Kiwi wearing a VR headset.


ARIVE logo. Their name is written next to picture of Australia and New Zealand.

Multimodal Technologies and Interaction logo. Their name is written next to a stylised blue M.

NVIDIA's logo. Their name is written under a green and white spiral with a green rectangle covering its right half.

Pico's logo.

XR bootcamp logo.

Doctoral Consortium Sponsors

The National Science Foundation's logo. NSF is written in white over a globe surrounding by silhouettes of people holding hands.

Conference Partner

Code of Conduct

© IEEEVR Conference